Mountain - BEST OF MOUNTAIN Vinyl


The 2003 expanded edition includes four bonus tracks.
Mountain: Leslie West (vocals, guitar); Felix Pappalardi (vocals, bass); Steve Knight (keyboards); Corky Laing (drums).
Producers: Felix Pappalardi.
Compilation producer: Bob Irwin.
Recorded between 1969 & 1971. Includes liner notes by Ben Edmonds.
A year after Mountain decided to call it quits in 1972, their first greatest hits collection was issued, titled simply THE BEST OF. While the band had issued only four studio albums and one live set during its brief three-year career, it had racked up several bona-fide classic rock radio staples.
The band centered around singer/guitarist Leslie West, whose beefed-up Clapton riffs served as the basis for the band's blues-based power rock, while bassist Felix Pappalardi and drummer Corky Laing proved to be a mammoth rhythm section. Only their finest songs are included here, highlights being the sexed-up anthem "Mississippi Queen," as well as the psychedelic ballad "Nantucket Sleighride," the fierce heavy metal rocker "Never in My Life," and the melodic "Theme for an Imaginary Western," the latter penned by ex-Cream bassist Jack Bruce.

  • Format: Vinyl
  • Genre: Pop