Roger Waters - Igor Stravinsky: The Soldier's Tale (180 Gram Double Vinyl) Vinyl


The Soldier's Tale is a theatrical work 'to be read, played, and danced' by three actors (the soldier, the devil, and a narrator) and dancers, accompanied by a septet of instruments. The libretto relates the parable of a soldier who trades his fiddle to the devil in return for unlimited economic gain. The music is scored for a septet of violin, double bass, clarinet, bassoon, cornet or trumpet), trombone, and percussion. The libretto is adapted by Roger Waters from the translation by Michael Flanders and Kitty Black, based on the original text by Charles-Ferdinand Ramus. As the work opens, Joseph, a Russian soldier, marches toward his hometown on leave, pack in tow. ('Marche du soldat'/'The Soldier's March') He rests by a stream and rummages through his pack. First he takes out his lucky St. Joseph medallion, then a mirror, then a photograph of his girlfriend. Finally, he finds what he was searching for: his fiddle. He begins to play. ('Petit airs au bord du ruisseau'/'Airs by a Stream') The devil appears disguised as an old man carrying a butterfly net, but Joseph does not notice him and continues to play. The devil sneaks up on Joseph from behind and startles him. The Soldier's Tale package includes 2 printed inner sleeves with lyrics and pictures.

- Disc 1 -
1 The Soldiers March
2 The Soldier Is Tired
3 Airs By a Stream
4 As You Can Hear
5 The Soldiers March (Reprise)
6 Eventually, Joseph Reaches His Home Village
7 Pastorale
8 The Soldier, Disconsolate
9 Pastorale, Reprise
10 The Soldier, Slowly Coming Back to Himself
11 Airs By a Stream (Reprise): To Stretch Out on the Grass
12 Hey Satan, You Bastard
13 Airs By a Stream (2nd Reprise)
14 Nowt to Be Gained Here
- Disc 2 -
1 The Soldiers March (2nd Reprise): Down a Hot and Dusty Track
2 He Doesn't Even Know Himself
3 The Soldiers March, (3ND Reprise): Will He Take the Road to Home
4 He Doesn't Have a Home Anymore
5 The Royal March
6 So All Was Arranged
7 Later That Night
8 The Little Concert: Light Floods the Eastern Sky
9 The Soldier, with a Confident Air
10 Three Dances: Tango
11 Three Dances: Waltz
12 Three Dances: Ragtime
13 So First a Tango
14 The Devil's Dance
15 The Devil, Confused
16 The Little Chorale
17 The Devil Recovers Some of His Wits
18 The Devil's Song: All Right! You'll Be Safe at Home
19 HM, a Fair Warning
20 Grand Chorale (Part 1)
21 Spring, Summer, Autumn
22 Grand Chorale (Part 2)
23 Steady Now
24 Grand Chorale (Part 3)
25 Steady, Just Smell the Flowers
26 Grand Chorale (Part 4)
27 Now I Have Everything
28 Grand Chorale (Part 5)
29 The Princess, All Excited
30 Grand Chorale (Part 6)
31 And So, Off They Go
32 Triumphal March of the Devil

  • Format: Vinyl