Kevin Ayers - Joy Of A Toy Vinyl

$22.94 $24.98

Personnel includes: Kevin Ayers (vocals); Paul Buckmaster (cello); Paul Minns (oboe); David Bedford (piano); Mike Ratledge (keyboards); Hugh Hopper, Jeff Clyne (bass); Robert Wyatt, Rob Tait (drums); Jean, Mary, Cyrille Ayers, Sean Murphy (background vocals).
Ayers left the Soft Machine for a solo career when his basic pop leanings appeared at odds with the intense jazz/rock of his former colleagues. This album was a cult favourite at the end of the 60s for no reason other than that Ayers was well liked because he was ever so slightly mad. Take a look and listen at the content of this album: 'Song For Insane Times', 'Eleanor's Cake (Which Ate Her)' and 'Stop This Train (Again Doing It)'. Through the haze of quirkiness there is a strong light melodic feel to much of the music, and Ayers did possess a heartbreaker voice that prompted one woman to state, 'he is the sexiest man in the world'.

  • Format: Vinyl
  • Genre: Pop