Phish - HOIST Vinyl

By Phish

Phish: Trey Anastasio (guitars, vocals); Page McConnell (piano, organ, vocals); Mike Gordon (bass, mandolin, vocals); Jon Fishman (drums).
Additional personnel: Alison Kraus (vocals); Bela Fleck (banjo); Morgan Fichter (violin); The Richard Greene Fourteen (strings); Jonathan Frakes (trombone); Rickey Grundy Chorale, Jean McClain, Rose Stone (background vocals).
Tower Of Power Horns: David Mann (alto saxophone); Emilio Castillo (tenor saxophone); Stephen "Doc" Kupka (baritone saxophone); Lee Thornburg (trumpet, trombone); Greg Adams (flugelhorn).
Recorded at American Recording Company, Woodland Hills, California from October to November, 1993.
Hoist is the most concise Phish album to date, but that's not necessarily a compliment. Phish's strength is not songcraft or hooks, it's the band's love of free-form song structures and extended jams. When the group's sound is reduced to its core, as it is on Hoist, it isn't quite as compelling. Nevertheless, the album is an improvement on the dismal Rift and features several fine cuts. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

  • Format: Vinyl
  • Genre: Pop